Yeah, I did it again

Oops, I’ve done it again. I’ve gone back on my promise and started a mash-up of a couple of story ideas.

Heh, good thing this isn’t a New Year’s Resolution.

Okay, I think it’s because I have no classes/lectures/seminars to attend as college is out for the summer, and I’m avoiding the reading for the dissertation proposal like the plague, so I’m just working in my imagination all day.

I’m sorry, I’ll try and do better. Please don’t hate me, just pity me and my brain (my dissertation’s on low mood and creativity, I thought it was a good idea until I realized how big it is).

I’ve kept the characters though, changed a few things around. Now using The Novel Factory because I liked the free trial. It’s good software, I’m liking the ‘roadmap’, wish someone had given me this a few years ago.

Lesson for you, going back to my post a few weeks ago, you definitely need to love what you do. It’s overstated and probably a cliché now, but that passion I was talking about, you need that drive to keep going. You need motivation, like deadlines or accountability, to keep on going.

As Paramore said in Brick by Boring Brick,

Keep your feet on the ground when your head’s in the clouds

Because this is a long and boring process at times, and getting it down on paper’s only the first hurdle to go down (that’s why I like The Novel Factory, it builds it up from a concept).

Good luck with your own writing!

Leave a Reply

