As Above, So Below

I wrote this a while back, one of my ventures into song writing, not sure how good it actually is, but here it is anyway.

[Intro:]

Take back what’s broken

Make it start working

And leave the past all behind

Follow my dreams to see what they mean

And watch the rain fall from the sky

I can’t betray this feeling

I gives my life meaning

As I hold this body high

 

[Verse:]

It’s a lie, what you believe

You wear your heart up on your sleeve

Draw your fist back, watch it go

It’s a sign that no-one knows

Shake the bottle, fade to grey

You just can’t take the pain away

That corner in which you can hide

Can’t stop me coming when I arrive

 

I’ll stalk your halls, tear down the walls

Watch the world stop as you fall

You’re not broken as you crawl

I can’t break you from this stall

 

[Bridge:]

So just let go as you need it

Lay back down as you bleed it

I want this pattern as I feed it

Nothing happens when you mean it

Just relax even if you don’t feel it

Don’t watch the blade as it pierces it

And I won’t feel guilt babe when you fade it

 

[Chorus:]

Take back what’s broken

Make it start working

And watch the rain fall from the sky

I can’t betray this feeling

I gives my life meaning

As I hold this body high

 

[Verse:]

As above and so below

I can’t stop and just let go

I need this fix, I need it now

I need this craving anyhow

Watch it end in this tonight

It’s all over and gives you a fright

You can’t hide this shame you feel

Because you want it to be real

 

I just want to break you apart

Rip this choke-hold right from the start

Paint in blood and call it art

Let go of your life and stop your heart

 

[Bridge:]

So just let go as you need it

Lay back down as you bleed it

I want this pattern as I feed it

Nothing happens when you mean it

Just relax even if you don’t feel it

Don’t watch the blade as it pierces it

And I won’t feel guilt babe when you fade it

 

[Chorus:]

Take back what’s broken

Make it start working

And watch the rain fall from the sky

I can’t betray this feeling

I gives my life meaning

As I hold this body high

Hold it high

 

[Outro:]

Take back what’s broken

Make it start working

And leave the past all behind

Follow my dreams to see what they mean

And watch the rain fall from the sky

I can’t betray this feeling

I gives my life meaning

As I hold this body high

Leave a Reply

